ASKRIGG & LOW ABBOTSIDE PARISH COUNCIL ANNUAL PARISH MEETING AND PARISH ASSEMBLY

Wednesday 19th May 2021 at 7.30 pm. In the Village Hall

Parish Assembly Meeting

The Chairman opened the meeting and welcomed members of the public.

Annual Parish Meeting

- 1. Apologies for absence none
- 2. The minutes from the previous Annual Parish Meeting and Parish Assembly held on the 15th May 2019 were agreed as a true record.
- 3. Chairman's review

Cllr Fawcett addressed the meeting saying he thought the village had continued to thrive, particularly during the pandemic. The Askrigg Foundation building had now been completely renovated and was fully occupied. He thanked the group of volunteers who had been litter picking throughout the parish and asked that they be contacted to say thank you form the Parish Council.

Annual Governance Statement 2020/21

Askrigg and Low Abbotside Parish Council is exempt from external audit for the year 2020/21 as its annual turn-over does not exceed £25,000. The Certificate of Exemption was duly signed and will be sent to PKF Littlejohn LLP.

The internal audit this year was carried out by Mr Brian Weaving and the contents were noted. A spreadsheet has been developed by Mr Weaving which will assist in next year's collation of figures. The Councillors thanked Mr Weaving for all his help.

The Parish Council approved Section 1 Annual Governance Statement 2020/21 for Askrigg and Low Abbotside Parish Council.

Accounting Statements 2020/21

Askrigg and Low Abbotside Parish Council approved Section 2 Accounting Statements 202/21 and the documents were duly signed.

In accordance with the Accounts & Audit Regulations 2015 and Transparency Code for small authorities, Askrigg & Low Abbotside will publish all documents on their website.

6. Reports

Low Mill – Asa Gurden will be the Parish Council representative for Low Mill and report to the Council accordingly.

7. Election of Chairman & Vice Chairman

It was proposed and seconded that Cllr Fawcett would remain the Chairman with Cllr Hodgson proposed and seconded as Vice Chairman both for a third term of office. These were proposed and seconded by Cllrs Allen Kirkbride and Greta Kirkbride.

8. Election of Committee Members

Cemetery – Cllrs B Fawcett, D Teasdale & D Scarr Low Mill - Mr Asa Gurden Village Hall – Cllrs J Hodgson and D Teasdale Almhouses – Cllr B Fawcett

9. Questions or issues from members of the public None raised.